Scorecard Rules Join SJMSBL SJMSBL on Facebook
Playoffs Standings Scoreboard Schedule Teams Photos Calendar News

SJMSBL League History

Established: 1988
Location: San José, CA
Teams: 20 (2019)
Divisions: Dunn (18+ Wood), Ettare (25+ Wood)

The San José Men's Senior Baseball League (SJMSBL) formed in 1988 and is one of over 325 leagues nationwide associated with the national Men's Senior Baseball League (MSBL). The league features players at least 18 years of age playing an 18-20 game season.

The national MSBL organization has in excess of 45,000 players on 3,200 teams.

The San José MSBL features some of the best ballplayers in the world! Every October and November San José sends its premier players to Phoenix, Arizona where over 320 teams from across the country and world compete for MSBL World Series titles. San José MSBL has won 16 titles in multiple divisions and particpated in 30 championship games during 31 years of MSBL World Series competition.


In 2012, the league went through division realignment and honary renaming. The National division was renamed Dunn after founder and former President Ron Dunn. The American and Pacific divisions merged to form the Ettare division in honor of longtime manager and board member Robert Ettare. The Atlantic division was renamed Nicewonger after former Umpire in Chief Dave Nicewonger who lost his battle with cancer in March 2011.

In 2019, the Nicewonger division merged into the Dunn division.

Tournament Accomplishments

SJMSBL Tournament Accomplishments
Year Tournament Division Place Team Name
2019Desert Classic55+ AmericanChampionSan José 55s
2019Desert Classic25+ NationalChampionSanta Clara Twins
2018World Series25+ MountainChampionSanta Clara Twins
2018World Series25+ CactusRunner-upSan José Marlins
2018World SeriesFather/Son AmericanChampionSan José Giants
2018Desert Classic25+ NationalChampionSan José Giants
2017World SeriesFather/Son AmericanChampionSan José Giants
2016World SeriesFather/Son AmericanChampionSan José
2016World Series18+ NationalRunner-upSanta Clara Twins
2016World Series25+ Central Div 3Semi-FinalsSan José Bees
2015Desert Classic25+ WoodChampionSan José Brew Crew
2013World SeriesFather/Son AmericanChampionSan José
2012Santa Cruz Classic18+ Wood BatChampionSanta Cruz Mets
Best of the West
25+ChampionSanta Cruz Mets
2012World SeriesNational Wood Bat (50+)Runner-upSan José
2011Santa Cruz Classic18+ Wood BatChampionSanta Cruz Mets
Best of the West
25+ChampionSanta Cruz Mets
2011World SeriesFederal (25+)ChampionSan José Brew Crew
2011World SeriesNational Wood Bat (50+)Runner-upSan José
2010Santa Cruz Classic18+ Wood Bat3rd PlaceSanta Cruz Mets
Best of the West
25+ChampionSanta Cruz Mets
Best of the West
25+ChampionSanta Cruz Mets
2009World SeriesCentral (25+)Semi-FinalsWest Coast Bigfoot
2008World SeriesNational (45+)Runner-upSan José
2008World SeriesFather/Son NationalSemi-FinalsSan José
2008World SeriesCentral (25+)Semi-FinalsSan José
Best of the West
25+Runner-upSanta Cruz Mets
2007World SeriesNational (45+)Runner-upSan José
2006World SeriesNational (45+)Runner-upSan José
2005World SeriesFather/Son National,Runner-upSan José
2005World SeriesNational (45+)ChampionSan José
2004World SeriesFather/Son National AAAChampionSan José
2004World SeriesNational (48+)Runner-upSan José
2001World SeriesNational (40+)ChampionSan José
2000World SeriesNational (40+)Runner-upSan José
1999World SeriesAmerican (30+)ChampionSan José
1999World SeriesNational (40+)Runner-upSan José
1997World SeriesNational (30+)Runner-upSan José
1997World SeriesNational (40+)ChampionSan José
1996World SeriesNational (40+)ChampionSan José
1995World SeriesContinental (30+)Runner-upSan José Twins
1994World SeriesNational (30+)ChampionSan José
1994World SeriesCentral (30+)ChampionSan José Twins
1992World SeriesNational (30+)ChampionSan José
1989World SeriesNational (30+)ChampionSan José
1988World SeriesNational (30+)Runner-upSan José